Day Eleven

Effective things:

Starting doing pomodoros allows me to actually focus, but stopping doing them makes me actually get work done. Therefore I should do pomodoros twice at the start, and then when I stop focusing on a task properly.

Ineffective things:

Failed to write up metrics yesterday

Thoughts:

.

What if whenever I switch my focus to another activity I have to write its name down? Should eliminate needless flitting around.

Each pomo should have a clear defined subtask goal or set of tasks.

Doing bike seems to have tired me out enough that I’m able to register properly ‘unable to do more work school.’ So I’ll ignore the ENGR homework for now and focus on non-direct work that needs doing.

Thinking session: Math 1.2 HW

What happened?

Had to google a lot of problems- to no avail either. One I brute force guessed. Only about half of them were solved by actually thinking rather than realizing the problem was looking for something dumb. Took about five hours of mostly straight concentration.

Did you try a particular method? How did it affect things?

Pomodoro kinda. Used at start to get me on track, but stopped after two because breaks only seem to reduce effectiveness after that.

What was done well? How can you replicate your success?

The biggest positive impact seems to be from having skype closed, and the focus provided by the initial pomodoros. I should do this at the start of every productive session.

What was best was the brute force solution, but that’s only available in very weird circumstances and robs me of understanding.

The solution to many problems seems to be one of the following:

*Differentiate once or twice and fill in accordingly

*solve for the variables with the initial value, and then return to the original equation and plug them in

What was done poorly? Are there solutions?

One question I got wrong- or rather, I got them all wrong, but this one only had one try. I didn’t understand it well enough to answer, but I have over a week. So what I should have done was leave it alone and then come back to it after further study. (I have all of these memory systems for a reason ya know). It was a yes/no question, and I answered too quickly. I didn’t even feel sure about it. Expected utility of my answering was lower than expected utility of waiting.

A small amount of lack of focus, but that’ll probably always be there.

Leave a Reply

