Day Three

Summarize your day in a paragraph

Woke up after getting 8 hours of sleep- that 1 hr nap didn’t really change anything except that I remember waking up twice… no alarms set though. Got bike! It is really quite strange, owning a bike. Properly linked one note management system to this one. Set myself up for being ready for school stuff. Realized having book search engines on the wiki was a bad idea, and so removed them. No illicit knowledge here, folks…. Read through the rest of the rationality & science subsequence of the Quantum Physics sequence. Applied the improvements I noted yesterday to this method. Added personal projects to userpage!

Tasks unfinished:

  • flask tutorial at all
  • show clips: cabin window
  • get proper feedback on IR wiki. Kind of talked to Epitron about it, and they seemed to have roughly similar interests there.

What happened today that worked really well?

Going on craigslist, emailing a whole bunch of people and then getting one response, and then just going out and buying a bike! I also realized I never have to go to ATMs- I can just go to winco and get money back. Noting changes ahead of time in my old post and then making them a task to do tomorrow rather than trying to make all of the changes then and there. Closing/ignoring Skype helped me not look at it, and I did actually copy-dump my tabs this time around. After getting money, the hours of 1-3 were really effective since I knew I had a set deadline to get to the bike guy.

What went poorly?

After getting the bike I felt exhausted, so the second half of my day just wasn’t well spent at all. This sort of thing always happens when I get exercise, but goes away if I keep at it regularly. I also didn’t eat breakfast until like three hours after waking which is just weird for me. May have affected tiredness somewhat significantly? Didn’t draw or write today, but that was tiredness. My task completion ratio is slipping (but still more tasks done overall?), but I’d blame that on the exhaustion. I think my lack of deadlines for each task means that they fill up more. Exercise tiredness and going to bed early will probably throw off my little sleep measuring I’m doing. Bleh… Trying to type this up ate up a bunch of time I should have spent sleeping. So slow to type up. Got distracted and in an argument on IRC while doing this despite all that

How could you have done better today?

Should have eaten breakfast on time. Should provide timeframes for tasks, and write down notes to return to them later after my other tasks. If I give each approximately how much time I think I’ll need, then I can cycle through each, and return afterwards to the ones still needing to be accomplished. Add total sleep hours to metrics. Finished tasks up and actually did habits proper

Review your tasks (via todo list or however else you keep track of what needs doing! This system doesn’t dictate that.)

Review your goals and goal projects for the next steps (On your user page!)

State what tasks, projects, or exercises you intend to complete tomorrow. (Improve a skill perhaps?)

  • Show clips cabin thing
  • flasks tutorial 12
  • IR wiki tests
  • save skype logs from laptop
  • set alarms on phone properly
  • add more when awake deeeerrrrpppp
  • sleep total -> metrics

habits

daily method

note your impressions including changes that may make it more effective. What’s hurting efficiency? Where could it be bolstered?

Definitely doing this when tired is baaaad so I need to assign fewer tasks, get everything sorted and then derp around on IRC or whatever. Because this is only going to be an extreme inefficiency- not identifying tasks properly, being too tired to think, unable to properly rate metrics. All of these would be improved by just doing it earlier. The not-everything-is-complete problem could be solved by just having a set deadline for writing stuff up.

How are you going to do better tomorrow?

Finish all tasks, do all habits. Eat breakfast on time. Set a timeframe for each task (perhaps apply pomodoros?) When that timeframe is used up, move on to the next task. Cycle through these until 11pm or finished?

Thoughts?

zzz

3am edit: couldn’t fall asleep. Apparently although I felt exhausted, that wasn’t enough to actually change anything. I feel a bit more awake now… rraaaaaaahhggg my legs kind of hurt. I feel like everything failed at once here, and that were I on polyphasic it wouldn’t have. Because there I can just fall asleep whenever I want, but like this I’m at a whim of whatever controls my sleep process. So, I’m going to use this to reset my sleep schedule somewhat. (I need to get up at 8am on mon-weds, and so my current schedule of waking up at 11am isn’t going to cut it… staying up all night while partially exhausted isn’t exactly fun though. So I’m really not sure what to do here. This is the kind of thing I’d switched to polyphasic to specifically avoid, actually. Unfortunately I’d never properly achieved that. Couldn’t beat the four day mark, and I’m certainly not going to try it without someone to keep me up. Never tried uberman, and instead went for dymaxion… which may have been a mistake? Probably.

Gonna sort some of the links for utility since I don’t think I can do much else right now…

Leave a Reply

